top of page
Thank god you're here!

I'm Terri and a few months ago, I was a stressed out, overworked Digital Marketer working in the city. I was miserable so, I quit my career and took a job in the middle of the forest, in the backcountry of Bowron Lake Provincial Park.

Keep in touch

(Seriously, there is no one out here to talk to)

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Every Job Comes with Some Sh*@ Days

Turns out -- it doesn't matter if you have your dream job, living your best life and feeling so #blessed all the time, you will still have some absolutely sh%$ days.

Is it just me or have we all worked towards a "dream life" where you are eternally happy and unphased by the various trials and stresses that currently drive you mad?

To be completely frank, at the beginning of the summer, I was bright eyed and bushy tailed, feeling like this job was just the thing I needed.

Today was the type of day that blew that theory straight out of the water.

I won't go into detail (because honestly, most of this is so petty that I'm embarrassed to write it down) but the basic summation is this: bad weather, grumpy paddlers (because of said bad weather) and a particularly temperamental chainsaw that refused to start.

Damn...that is petty. And it is not as though these three things have never happened (we do live in the Cariboo Region which means that it will rain, snow, hail, and shine in the span of an hour), but for some reason today, that #blessed feeling just wasn't cutting it and that picture that I had in my head of my perfect, idealised summer, came crashing down around me (much like the rain shower which, at that exact moment, had decided to turn into a pelting hail storm),

So yes, I had a shitter of a day and, in a weird way, I'm kind of glad it happened.

I'm glad because a few months ago, when I was sitting in my old dreary office in that old dreary city, I dreamed about being in a place just like this, in nature and away from deadlines, KPIs and traffic, and I thought to myself, "now, wouldn't that be perfect?"

Turns out, nothing is ever perfect: not relationships, nor apartments, nor friends, nor jobs. And yes, I know it might seem like a few people on your Instagram feed have achieved this rare state of 'perfection' but trust me, what you don't see are those moments, when they're standing in the pouring rain with a chainsaw that refuses to run, looking up towards the sky and desperately screaming 'for god sakes, just give me a f^&#$@! break'. At which point, the sky answers by pelting down hail the size of golf balls.

It may seem simple but it takes moments like these to realise that nothing is effortless, no life is perfect, and every single job will have bad days. All that we can ask is that there are rainbows after the hailstorms and that not all chainsaws are as temperamental as mine.


bottom of page